Weather warnings
HLNSC will keep you updated with any possible closures.

HLNSC Board and Committees

Herefordshire, Ludlow and North Shropshire College group has 14 voluntary members on its Board who bring a variety of skills to the Governing Body. 

There is also a Staff Governor elected and nominated by the staff and two Student Governors elected and nominated by students. 

Schedule of meetings

Annual timetable of business

Find out more about the Board and Committees

Independent Governors: 11 
Principal: 1 
Student Governors: 2 
Staff Governor: 1 
Total: 15 

Sebastian Bowen (Co-opted Member Audit Committee) 
Tony Bramley (Independent Governor) 
James Caird (Independent Governor) 
Julia Evans (Independent Governor) 
Tony Ford (Independent Governor) 
Barry Hansford (Independent Governor) 
Laura Johnston (Independent Governor) 
Debbie Lambert (Co-opted Member Quality and Standards Committee) 
Alan Layng (Chair) (Independent Governor) 
Jeremy Nicholls (Vice-Chair) (Independent Governor) 
Krista Price (Staff Governor) 
Elizabeth Quinn (Independent Governor) 
Kevin Tong (Co-opted Member Audit Committee) 
Ben Whiteley (Student Governor)
David Williams (Principal and Chief Executive) 

The Board includes the following committees: 

  • Audit Committee (statutory requirement) 
  • Search and Governance Committee (statutory requirement) 
  • Finance and Employment Committee 
  • Quality and Standards Committee 
  • Remuneration Committee

Further details of each committee’s Terms of Reference can be viewed within the Terms of Reference of the Board.

Audit Committee 

  • Sebastian Bowen (Co-opted Member) 
  • Tony Bramley  
  • Tony Ford (Chair) 
  • Kevin Tong (Co-opted Member) 

Search and Governance Committee 

  • Tony Bramley (Chair) 
  • Tony Ford 
  • Laura Johnston 
  • Alan Layng 
  • David Williams 

Finance and Employment Committee 

  • James Caird 
  • Julia Evans 
  • Alan Layng (Chair) 
  • Jeremy Nicholls 
  • David Williams 

Quality and Standards Committee 

  • Laura Johnston (Chair) 
  • Barry Hansford 
  • Alan Layng 
  • Jeremy Nicholls 
  • Liz Quinn 
  • David Williams 
  • Debbie Lambert (Co-opted) 

Remuneration Committee 

  • Tony Bramley 
  • Tony Ford 
  • Laura Johnston 
  • Alan Layng (Chair Board)   
  • Jeremy Nicolls (Chair and Vice Chair Board) 

Governors are normally appointed to serve a 4-year term of office. On retirement, a Governor is eligible for re-appointment for a further term of no longer than 4 years. Thereafter, in exceptional circumstances, and at the recommendation of the Search and Governance Committee, annual extensions may be granted. The Corporation must endorse these recommendations.

Student governors can only be appointed for the duration of their course at college.

As defined by the Articles of Government, the Governing Body is responsible for: 

  • Determining the educational character and mission of the institution and overseeing its activities 
  • Approving the quality strategy of the institution 
  • Ensuring effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the institution and the Corporation and for safeguarding their assets 
  • Approving annual estimates of income and expenditure 
  • Appointing, grading, suspending, dismissing and determining pay and conditions  of service of the holders of senior posts (i.e. the Principal and such other senior posts as the Members may determine for the purposes of the Articles), and 
  • Setting a framework for the pay and conditions of service of all other staff.  

The Governing Body is responsible for the overall functioning of the college group. It is responsible for the quality of the service to its learners and their welfare, financial health, the proper use of public funds, and for ensuring effective management. This includes agreeing policies and strategies and ensuring that the institution’s aims and objectives are achieved. 

It has responsibility for setting and monitoring targets for the retention and achievement of learners – ensuring that learners continue their studies and achieve their learning goals. This will include strategies for improving skills, participation and learning and set targets for performance. 

The Governing Body is also responsible for monitoring its own performance to ensure it operates to a high standard. HLNSC’S Governors will annually assess their performance by conducting and reviewing peer appraisals. 

The Clerk will hold and maintain a register of Governors’ interests. 

All Governors are required to manually complete an entry in the Register of Interests on an annual basis. Governors can add or remove interests from the Register during the year. 

Governors are required to declare any personal or financial interests that could be seen to have an impact upon the exercise of their role and responsibilities as a Governor. Normally Governors will declare, at the outset of a meeting, any potential conflicts arising from the planned business of that meeting. 

If a matter emerges during the course of a meeting which relates directly to an item of business under consideration, then a Governor should immediately declare an interest. The Chair will have the right to seek the Corporation’s decision as to whether or not that member should withdraw. 

Are you interested in serving on HLNSC’s Board of Governors?

  • Prior experience is not required. 
  • Induction and training provided 
  • The position is voluntary and unpaid, but expenses may be reimbursed. 
  • You will need to be able to commit to at least five board meetings a year and serve on at least one committee (which demands another five meetings a year). 

If you would like to be considered for appointment to the Board
, please fill in our 
Application Form and return to the address shown below.  

Linda Watkins, 
Clerk to the Corporation, 
Herefordshire, Ludlow & North Shropshire College 
Folly Lane, 
Hereford  HR1 1LS

Are you a student interested in becoming a Student Governor? Speak to your tutor or get in touch to find out more!

For further information please email Linda Watkins, Clerk to the Corporation.

The College is an equal opportunities organisation and the Board welcomes applications from all sections of the community. 

Further information